Understating death; the only force to make us ‘really’ alive.

Since beginning, we are conditioned to be negligent of death, being unprepared and ignorant, We bombshell, when faced to our own ultimate end ! 
Just today, I realized how powerful is mindfulness of death is ! When I saw the near to death encounter of my own mother!!!! Everything was going as usual, I was in college packed up fully in exams and project works, then, a call at a sudden, made me scurry up without even taking all my stuff along with me, it was call from a person, who is most better I say, the ‘only’ one who resides in my heart, my lovable, my life, my precious mother !!!!! Worst I heard her crying, with her voice trembling as, the tree trembles down, when it is cut from the roots, with leafs following every where directionless……. She got an accident and injured her and was very scared, later she told me, I was the first person, she called, so that she could bid me the final farewell, tears fell apart as the reckless rocks fall from grin of mountains, hastily I thus reached, there in emergency ward, I saw her miserable state and in no time, this insight hit my mind, Death, can occur anytime, it is govern by laws of uncertainty! As blesses one said, ” whatever you think it will be, it is always something different “; Yes, we all know this, but at that time, I didn’t only know that; but understood by heart! !

Now, when I look around, I could see, how lucky we are?  look at those little tiny insects, they are stake of being crushed at any time! Those street animals, cats, who solely survive on garbage, many die due to starvation, perhaps ran down by car!!!
But, being humans, we have, intelligence, brain, processesing power, thus cotemplate, our lucky nature, and generate compassion towards weak beings 🙂 when I once saved a puppy life, I saw in his eyes, conveying deep gratitude towards me, thus still that memory give me happiness whenever I look back. ……….

“When you embrace the problem and bring it close to you, you have a  chance to understand it. When you run way, your face is turned opposite to the problem”
( Ajahn brahm)

Also,  being mindful of our death, helps us to be more kind and compassionate towards other beings, nurturing care and togetherness among each other, as we know, we care something themost when we know, it won’t last forever……No one knows what comes after death, but at least if we have lived our life wisely and earnestly, we could peacefully bid our final farewell, thus making our life meaningful, creating harmony amongst all beings. We start to  value little things, as Buddha said, ” easily satisfied and content; not proud and demanding in nature” we appreciate what we have, not craving for what we couldn’t have, letting past go, nor thinking about future, living each and every moment happily and peacefully here and now.
This contemplation of death, is greatest contemplation, it makes us realize how uncertain,  how out of control our life Is?  Thus, whatever limited time, we have, we live it well, we find meanging of life.  As Gandhi famously said, “Live your each day, as it’s yours last day” then only we will really ‘begin’ to live. 

20140504-003457.jpg

Leave a Reply

